Still complaining about the Oscars… one year on

Italiano: Stella di Meryl Streep sulla Hollywo...
No one comes close

Last year to the day, I was super annoyed that Inception didn’t win the Best Picture Oscar and hence through my rage, I started a blog to address this injustice in the hopes of starting a ground swell of public outcry to force the reversal of this decision. With a total of 3 readers rallying by my side, I couldn’t quite make this happen – sorry Leo my man.

Anyway, against the wisdom that I should employ in my daily life, I chose to watch the Oscars and found myself significantly less annoyed. I think I must be in a more apathetic place plus I think I’ve watched about 10 movies this year and can’t really cast an opinion on stuff I’ve not seen. To clarify, I saw one out from the nine movies nominated this year and that movie suck ass big fucking time. Guess.. anyone? The Tree of Life. Holy crap wasn’t this the most overated piece of confusing, mind bending and slow motion captured fluff ever made in the history of film? Surely with Brad Pitt and Sean Penn on hand, something signficantly more interesting could have eventuated (examples; se7en, 21 grams, fight club, carlito’s way).

So a few things I observed:

Jennifer Lopez is amazing for 42. I know everyone is currently obsessed staring at her nipples but damn she’s so pretty. I’ve come across this phenomena late in life (i.e. the last few years) and ashamedly discovered her watching Idol (there goes my one reader, dang it).

Billy Crystal should be forced to host every year till death. Sure he was corny at times but he’s leagues better than anyone else I’ve seen. After that dumb ass Cirque Du Soleil bit his “we’re a pony away from a bar mitzvah” line was funny, no? Am I the only one?

Meryl Streep is the greatest actor or actress of all god damn time (see The Deer Hunter). Name me a movie (be it great or not) where she sucked, one time..go on.. one time. That’s right MF, back off now.

I thought Nick Nolte was really good in Warrior. If you had to have an alcoholic father you could do much worse than Paddy Conlon (Paddy.. great name). And I get that a UFC based movie would never get nominated (snobs) even if it was like totally entertaining.

Why wasn’t The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo nominated for best film? Is wasn’t better than the horse movie. I really liked it and Rooney Mara was interesting – that rape scene was pretty rough to watch. By the way, if you’re sensitive to these types of scenes (and if you’re not, please stop reading and go find a bridge now) never, never watch Irreversable (still scarred).

I liked that Bret McKenzie (Conchords) won an Oscar for the Muppets (Best Song). Funny that there were only 2 songs nominated. I felt kind of the same way last year when watching Trent Reznor win last year. Guess they didn’t think much of the remade version of Immigrant Song with that chick from the Yeah Yeah Yeahs (see below).

 

Anyway, probably not the most comprehesive review of cinema’s night of nights but then I’ve spent most of my last 12 months addicted to what I’m feeling is the Golden Age of Television. In my opinion, there’s a lot better watching to be had with the likes of Breaking Bad, The Walking Dead, Sons Of Anarchy, Community, Homeland. These are better than an movies I’ve seen over the past year.

6 thoughts on “Still complaining about the Oscars… one year on

  1. Thanks to being trapped somewhere around your timezone this year, I couldn’t force myself to watch the Oscars. I love watching them live, but unfortunately that means midday during a work day here and by the time the replays are in in the evening, it just seems easier to rely on the recaps on the news – and reviews like this 🙂

    Looks like I didn’t miss too much this year. I agree with you on Meryl, is there anythig she can’t do?

    • If you’re in AU (and not living in Perth or Adelaide), I’m pretty sure we’re in the same time zone. The Oscars are much like New Years Eve, big build up to a big nothing. Meryl Streep is a god(ess).

  2. I just don’t understand why the Oscars are so poorly produced and executed. They celebrate incredible films but they fail to use the same techniques to create a memorable, kick-ass show!
    Why?

  3. Unfortunately I didn’t see the Oscars, which I consider the only tolerable award show mostly to the credit of the funny hosts. I don’t have live TV… the misses eats too much of the budget up buying me clothes (she’s bought me 7 winter coats and jackets this year, and counting… I was allowed to return only one).

    Forrest Dump, while perfectly watchable, did not live up to the type and will be best remembered for inspiring sophomoric similes that begin with the phrase “Life is like a box of….”. With the right amont of beer injested and in the right company, this is an extremely fertile seed from which some filthy sayings can grow.

    • Then you’ve not missed that much. I’m truly convinced that TV is much better than movies anyway, so much so that I’ve started blogging about this on
      xeriouslywatched.wordpress.com. Life is like a box of chocolates, I get that and the dozens of dirty variations that follow, my preference though is a line from Shawshank i.e. “You know what the Mexicans say about the Pacific? They say it has no memory. That’s where I want to live the rest of my life. A warm place with no memory.”

Leave a Reply

