People are still fucking rude – and sometimes weirdly friendly

So it’s been a long time since I’ve engaged into a written rant. Worry not, I’ve had lots of verbal ones and some with my inner monologue. This one requires no long explanation.

I was eating lunch on my own in a Malaysian cafe. It was lunchtime, pretty busy and there were not too many available tables to choose from. So there was this table of 4 in which 2 guys were half way through their meal. I asked if I could sit there (as table sharing was pretty common in this establishment) and in a totally non rude manner, the older of the two said “sure mate”.  So I sat and waited for my meal to arrive. It’s a riveting tale so far.

So I have my headphones on, listening to a podcast (I think it was Adam Carolla) but can overhear hear the older guy on the next table as he was obnoxiously loud. Tough to be heard in a bustling, noisy cafe but still, he managed. He started bitching about how rude people were in Queensland, and that people in Sydney are were also super rude, and don’t get him started about the people round here (Melbourne), and then he started on some ethnicities which was strange as he was sitting with an Indian guy (a minority in my fair country).

My food arrives after 20 fuckin minutes but it’s good so, you know. So the grey haired douche next to me finishes his meal and then shoves his plate to his right, on my god damned table. He doesn’t look up or acknowledge that he’s put his filth next the food that I still eating. I look up as I’m still thinking to myself what the fuck.. and he looks back at me, smiles and says, “the food’s good here huh? “. I kind of nod as I’m not really sure how to react. I was getting ready for a “hey fuck you man” retort but was thrown off by this unexpected friendliness.

Confused, I didn’t really know how to feel. I was still pissed that I was eating my lunch next to his dirty plate and cutlery but he threw my off with his unpredictable behaviour. I wonder if this makes met he asshole.

One thought on “People are still fucking rude – and sometimes weirdly friendly

  1. The french call it L’esprit de l’escalier, when you think of the perfect retort well after the moment has passed. Translated as “staircase wit” because after you’ve left the bar/party and are walking up the stairs to your apartment to call it a night, everything you could have said and should have done finally comes to you.

    This can be a blessing. I mean to be totally reactionary to everything can make you almost as fucking obnoxious that old racist douche (well almost) and doesn’t necessarily make one’s life easier.

    What’s hilarious is the fact that as more of the earth’s ozone depletes (especially in areas such as southern Australia), it will be the one’s like yourself and his Indian friend who are blessed with a little color that will thrive and endure.. Suck it Douchebag Racist Aryans!!

Leave a Reply

